ICSI is a UK registered company that offers specialized and accredited professional qualifications in cybersecurity for young IT graduates as well as mature professionals. It was created in response to the growing threats of cyber-crimes and the resulting demand for data security and protection.

ICSI | Certifications

Bletchley Park Science and Innovation Centre Bletchley , Milton Keynes 

tel: +44 (0) 19 08 88 04 93

Required Courses:

  1. Network Security and Cyber Defense


  1. Exam Code: CNSS  [Hours 2.5, Passing Grade 70%]


Download Course Outline

Course Outline: Network Security and Cyber Defense

Certification: ICSI|CNSS Certified Network Security Specialist


Duration:  5 Days 

Candidate Prerequisites: 

Basic Familiarity with Windows Operting System.



This course provides a holistic view of modern network security including operating system hardening, firewalls, intrusion-detection systems, VPNs and Encryption. Physical Security, Standards, System Security and Security Policies are also included.

Who Should Attend:
System administrators, Network administrators, security professionals, students and anyone who is interested in network security technologies. 

What is included:
•    eBook
•    Lab Guide
•    6 months 24x7 remote access to a virtual lab
•    1 exam voucher - Online Exam Proctoring 
•    Certificate of Attendance (Digital)

Module 1: Introduction to Network Security 
•    Network Basics
•    Basic Network Utilities
•    OSI Model
•    Threat Classification
•    Security Terminology
•    Approaches of Network Security
•    Law and Network Security

Module 2: Types of Attacks 
•    Denial of Service Attacks
•    Buffer Overflow Attacks
•    IP Spoofing
•    Session Hijacking

Module 3: Fundamentals of Firewalls
•    What is a Firewall
•    Firewall Types
•    Firewall Implementation
•    Proxy Servers
•    Windows Firewalls
•    Linux Firewalls

Module 4: Intrusion-Detection Systems
•    IDS Concepts
•    Components and Processes of IDS
•    Implementing IDS
•    Honeypots

Module 5: Fundamentals of Encryption 
•    The History of Encryption
•    Modern Encryption Methods
•    Digital Signatures and Certificates
•    Cracking Passwords

Module 6: Virtual Private Networks (VPN)
•    Introduction to VPN
•    VPN Protocols
•    IPSec
•    SSL/TLS
•    VPN Solutions

Module 7: Operating System Hardening 
•    Configuring Windows
•    Configuring Linux
•    Operating System Patches

Module 8: Virus Attacks and How to Defend
•    Virus Types and Attacks
•    Virus Scanners
•    Antivirus
•    Virus Infection and Identification
•    Trojan Horses
•    Spyware and Adware

Module 9: Security Policies 
•    User Policies Definition
•    System Administration Policies
•    Access Control

Module 10: Assessing System Security 
•    Risk Assessment 
•    Conducting an Initial Assessment
•    Probing the Network
•    Vulnerabilities
•    Documenting Security

Module 11: Security Standards
•    ISO Standards
•    NIST Standards
•    General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
•    PCI DSS

Module 12: Physical Security and Recovery
•    Physical Security
•    Disaster Recovery
•    Fault Tolerance

Module 13: Attackers Techniques
•    Hacking Preparation
•    The Attack Phase
•    Hacking Wi-Fi